Tuesdays with Dorie – Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler

Hello, and welcome to my first post for the group I just joined, Tuesday’s with Dorie!

So, I admit, I didn’t make Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler. I couldn’t find any Rhubard! So, I copied the idea of fellow members who did not have access to rhubarb and made Cherry Apple Cobbler.

All my ingredients.

A note: never again will I bake with fresh cherries and not have a cherry pitter. That sucked.

My cobbler before baking. (The recipe specified 20 balls of dough, 4 x 5, in a square dish. Since I made mine in a round, I decided to go crazy and ignore that part of the recipe, and just make balls until I ran out of dough and then cover the fruit with them in any pattern I saw fit. It worked.)

About 40 minutes later, out came this!

Half went to my grandpa, the other half to dinner at my parent’s house. I have to say, I loved it. Especially the little bit of bite that the ginger gave it. Thanks to Amanda from Like Sprinkles on a Cupcake for choosing such a yummy recipe. What a great way to start with this group!

Great with vanilla ice cream!

4 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler”

  1. Shandy Says:

    Your cobbler looks Yummy and Great idea of apples with the cherries. I know pitting cherries can be tedious work and that is why I invested in a cherry pitter this time. Definitely worth it if you ever plan on making more cherry desserts. =D

  2. Di Says:

    Nice job on your first recipe. I particularly like the last photo–looks yummy! Welcome to TWD!

  3. Barbara Says:

    Lovely cobbler! Cherry-apple cobbler sounds yummy. Welcome to TWD!

  4. Dolores Says:

    Welcome to TWD. Glad your first recipe worked out so well for you. A cherry pitter is a wonderful tool to have (works great with olives too).

Leave a Reply

