Tuesdays with Dorie – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream

This week, our group is not so much baking, as freezing.  Yum!  Thanks to Dolores of Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity, I made Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream this week.  It is the first time that I have made ice cream with my new ice cream maker attachment to the Kitchen Aid mixer and it was easy and fun!

First, I cooked the blueberries with the sugar and lime juice and zest.

Pretty, no?  After cooking that down, blending it, and then adding in the dairy, I put it in my ice cream maker.

Here it is about halfway done churning.  Action shot!

Here it is in the maker after I deemed it done churning.  It looks like ice cream, which I was thrilled about.

Overall, I would say that this was a success.  It turned into ice cream at the end, after a few hours in the freezer, which was my only real goal for this recipe.  I am not sure why I was so worried or why I was surprised, but it turned out well.  I do wish that it had more lime flavor than it ended up having, but still, I am happy to eat all of this project over the course of the next few days!

Go see what everyone else made this week!  Next week: Granola Grabbers!

8 Responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie – Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream”

  1. Jules Says:

    I’m glad this worked out so well for you! What a pretty color.

  2. Christine Says:

    I want a the ice cream maker attachment, so jealous! Your ice cream looks beautiful!

  3. Lori Says:

    it looks so pretty! i’m often amazed when things turn out as they’re supposed to, too.

  4. Dolores Says:

    I bought the ice cream attachment last summer and used it a dozen times at least. This is my first foray into ice cream this summer, and I’m glad I’ve got the attachment.

    Also glad you enjoyed NOT turning your oven on this week.

  5. Hannah Says:

    Yumm! looks great!

  6. Pamela Says:

    Looks great and I love the action shot!

  7. Heather Peskin Says:

    Lovely icecream. Such a pretty color.

  8. Sharon Says:

    Love the ice cream attachement photos…dieing to get one myself.

Leave a Reply

