I need your help.

Or, I should say, my vacuum and my head need your help.

I realized last weekend when I was vacuuming that my fancy Dyson wasn’t being so effective.  Annoyed, I flipped it over to see what the problem was.

45 minutes of masterful use of a tiny pair of bird scissors (similar to these) later, I had my answer.

Meet the Hair Ball of Doom (HBD), freed from the roller brush thingie of my vacuum.  (iPhone shown for size reference.)

Obviously not only my hair, but definately mostly.

I especially like the profile shot showing the impressive loftiness of the HBD.

See what I mean?

So, this whole HBD business got me to thinking that all this hair I currently have is doing me a disservice in some areas of my life.

Current state of my hair, for reference.

Examples of how my hair is annoying:

1.) HBD, HBD2, HBD3, etc. (obviously this will not be the only time this will occur if the long hair remains on my head)

2.) It takes way too long to blow dry this mess in the morning.  (And by way too long, I am talking 5 minutes.  I know that doesn’t sound like a long time, but seriously, IT IS.) (Oh, and for those of you thinking I should just stop blow drying it, I will just say right now that is not an option.  My hair would take about eleventy-billion hours to dry and during that time would turn into a very impressive frizzy afro thing.)

3.) I find myself putting my hair back when I sleep, because otherwise I wake up in the middle of the night pulling my own hair by laying on it.

4.) I’m lazy.  (Somewhat related to reason #2, but since it is a big one, I decided I could double up.)

5.) It tickles J when I bend over him in the car, when he is in my lap, etc.

6.) I have to remember to pull it back or it can get it my food.  Yuck.

7.) Can you say, “rolling hairballs?”  Eew.

8.) I am sure there are more, but these are all I can think of for now.

When I expressed all of these frustrations to my sister, she immediately suggested this little number:

Audrey Tautou from BellaSugar

So, I can see lots of pluses to something like this.  Easy to deal with and no HBD2 come to mind immediately.  But would I look funny?  Would I immediately regret it?  Would it be a pain to deal with?  Would my neck become permanently cold?

So, I look to you all for guidance.  I make no promises to do as you all decide, but input would be nice.

So vote (and feel free to add to your vote by commenting if you feel so inclined).

I don’t want this post to be all about me, so I will stick with the topic and show you how awesome J’s hair was this morning.

It was totally flat by the time we got to daycare though.  Bummer.  I think everyone there would have liked it too!

6 Responses to “I need your help.”

  1. Gina Says:

    I have had long hair forever only chopping it off a select few times. Once my grandma did it, once in college and just recently before having baby #2. This last time around I am so in love with my short hair. It really is easy to maintain and has been free of the hair pulling my older one always managed when I had long hair. If you’re still skittish I’d recommend easing into it. I spent all summer gradually shearing my hair off ’til I had a cute little pixie going on. 😀 Good luck!

    p.s. the huge hairballs of doom I have to deal with are now no longer my own but as direct results of my two long haired cats…!

  2. Karen Says:

    Three years ago I cut my hair from almost waist length to above my collar. It was traumatic but I loved it once it was done, I am so in love with it! it takes a bit of gel, and a round brush and 1 minute later, a little hairspray and I’m out the door! I love it!

    I say go for it!

    Karen

  3. Andrea Says:

    Do it! And if you won’t be traumatized, do it all in one shot. It’s way more fun. 🙂 I love growing my hair way out and then chopping it all. You can donate it to charity, and you walk around for weeks feeling like you’ve lost 5 pounds and grown 3 inches. My favorite cut lets me rub my head with a towel after the shower and walk out without even a hairbrush!

  4. Laura Says:

    Cut it! You’ll save on shampoo!

  5. thecatsman Says:

    Being a man I will forgo the voting,also have to pick myself up off the floor…..great blog..LMBO…

  6. shoutabyss Says:

    That’s very hard to say. I like both hair styles, long and short, very much. The beauty is that neither choice is permanent.

Leave a Reply

